Interesting idea: Silicone as chain lube

Status
Not open for further replies.
I found this testament just now and think that's a mighty interesting idea to clean up the dirty bike chain. I'll probably have to wait for drier weather till I really can start to successfully use the silly cone for the actual chain lube:

Silly cone as chain lube

Quote:
Posted by LittleBigMan 04-13-01, 10:41 PM
You know I am not an expert on bike repairs, but...

I once put some silicon "oil" (not really designed for lubrication, but I thought, 'Darn, this stuff is really slippery, and it says it's silicon (really techno-cool).' So I put it on the chain.

Hit a cool rainstorm on the way home. Soon I started hearing this sound, like chirping birds. By the time I got home, I was cringing past every person within earshot of me, hoping they wouldn't think I was riding a cheap bike!

Good news, though. It disappeared after I added a little petro-based oil. Guess that'll larn me: never use oil labled "Xerox".
wink.gif

I have used silicone chain lube on my motorcycle chain for several years . It works great and doesn't attract dirt. I buy the Dupont brand at Lowes hardware and its only about 6 dollars for a large can. Hope this helps, Thanks, G

Umm....you live in Portland. Let me just say that this isn't going to work!

I've used it before in a pinch, and it'll "work", but after about 2 minutes in the rain and you'll have a chirping chain. It can work in dry weather, but it shears like crazy, so you'll get about 2-4 hours of ride time before you have to re-apply.

Pretty much the best chain lube you can use is 3 in 1 oil. Just apply it sparingly, let it sit for a while and wipe off the excess (the visible lube isn't going anything except attracting dirt). I use this all year and it works great in all conditions.

More than you ever wanted to read about bicycle chain lube: http://www.biketechreview.com/forum/1-general-discussion/21680-comparison-of-chain-lubes