Using 5W20 in a 5W30 application

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a 2009 Suzuki Grand Vitara with a 3.2 V6. It calls for 5w30. Was looking @ some alternative viscosities. Just wondering if anyone had any opinions. Was looking at a 20 weight oil. Keep in mind i am Canada so the cold winters would be a factor. I change my oil twice a year. I'm currently using Amsoil Signature Series 0W30 with their filter. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I run 5w20 in both of my vans. They are short trip vehicles, so the oil gets to operating viscosity faster. Based on my research, both 5w20 and 5w30 are the same viscosity at operating temp. My Sienna was back spec'd all the way down to 0w20, the Astro I am just living dangerously I guess! HA HA HA. I am not an expert, just playing with oil. Since most of the oil deals I have gotten are 5w30, my Astro will be going back to that weight going forward.

Originally Posted By: DutchBrad
Based on my research, both 5w20 and 5w30 are the same viscosity at operating temp.

How in the world do you figure 5w20 and 5w30 are the same viscosity at operating temp? If they were, there would be no need for one or the other.

You could probably get away with using 5w20. There really is no reason for it though, at least in your case. You are using (arguably) one of the best oils for that application. The Amsoil 0w30 is a great oil and great at low temps too. If it is a cost factor use PetroCan 0w30 or M1 0w30 Otherwise stick to EXACTLY what you are doing.

Last edited:
I see no valid reason to use a 20wt when the manufacture specifies a 30wt oil. Fuel mileage increase would most probably be lost in the tank-to-take variability. If you are having cold starting problems then try a 0w30 oil. JMO. Ed

Originally Posted By: Trav
Quote:
both 5w20 and 5w30 are the same viscosity at operating temp

How does that work?

False statement of the day...