PureOne pl14610 Ripped opened! 7100 miles

Status
Not open for further replies.
had this Pureone in my acura for 7100 miles. i change my oil at 3500 intervals, so this was in for 2 oci. This is my first time taking it apart and wanted to see how it held up especially for this long. After seeing this, i am more than confident to take it up to 10k+ miles. The filter media did not seem to be clogged up as i barely felt any debris..there was but very little and small particles. The filter media was glued on very well...i had difficulty ripping it apart.

my method of opening the filter was creating a hole with cutting pliers and then using needle nose pliers to slowly rip apart the can. took me about 5 minutes.
photo1-1.jpg

photo-3.jpg

Are any of those particles from the can mangling - I mean cutting?

wink.gif

Last edited:
Looks good. The PL14610 is a nice filter application for Honda/Acura, easily good for any 5-15% MM OCI.

Love the "ripped open' thread header.

Just a suggestion, if you plan on doing this much and have a Harbor Freight nearby, grab an exhaust cutter, ~$16 with a coupon. less when on sale.

Quote:
Looks good for a 3500 mile interval. So would any filter really.

The filter interval was 7100 miles.

Originally Posted By: sayjac
Looks good. The PL14610 is a nice filter application for Honda/Acura, easily good for any 5-15% MM OCI.

Just a suggestion, if you plan on doing this much and have a Harbor Freight nearby, grab an exhaust cutter, ~$16 with a coupon. less when on sale.

Originally Posted By: LeakySeals

The interval(s) was 2X3500. Big difference from 1X7100.

Originally Posted By: sayjac

The interval(s) was 2X3500. Big difference from 1X7100.

It isn't 3500 either, big difference.
smiley-rolleyes010.gif
2 OCIs' of ~3500 is still a 7100 filter interval.

When I post my BD+ two oci's ~6500mi. I'll post 13K interval on filter, not 6500. I'll go with the OP's 7100. Thanks

Originally Posted By: rjacket