Audi A4 vs. BMW 3-series for the DIY'er...?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Which car is better for the person who likes to do all his own maintenance and repairs? Say a 2010+ Audi A4 4cyl, man. trans AWD or a BMW 3-series, man. trans AWD?

I don't own a garage but get by pretty good on my driveway with ramps, jack stands, etc...with hand tools and an electric impact wrench. I have no experience with these brands.

I keep my cars 10 to 12 years. I assume the cost for repairs will be about the same but is one brand more DIY friendly?

E30 and E36 were easy to work on, but parts were expensive. I suspect the parts cost would be high for Audi as well though.

I have not had anything newer than that. I would like to have another E30 though, preferably with an S52 under the hood
smile.gif

They'll both be difficult. The Germans like to make things very complicated and require strange tools to do certain things (like triple-square sockets).

Coming from almost 10 years worth of Hondas/Acuras, my Audi was a really big change in terms of DIY maintenance.

I find my BMW Z4 to be easier to work on than my A6. Even though they are not in the same class of vehicles, I would think that A4 would be a more sophisticated vehicle than a 3 series BMW.

Of course, the biggest DIY being the annual oil changes, they both are very easy to do with an oil vac.

Originally Posted By: dparm
They'll both be difficult. The Germans like to make things very complicated and require strange tools to do certain things (like triple-square sockets).

Coming from almost 10 years worth of Hondas/Acuras, my Audi was a really big change in terms of DIY maintenance.

Really? I haven't found mine to be difficult to work on at all so far. Everything is in "layers" and seems to come apart in a very logical fashion.