PYB, Moly content and high miles

Status
Not open for further replies.
This post is about the 2001 Dodge Dakota in my signature. It is a V6 3.9 liter with a 5 speed. It has 148,400 miles on it now. I have been using Quaker State conventional 10W30 for the last 18 months. Before that I used Napa and Carquest 10W30 conventional. Prior to that I used Valvoline White Bottle and also did a few OCI's with Maxlife 10W30.

All of the oils I have used did fine, as far as I can tell. I have an oil change coming up soon. I read on here that PYB has a lot more moly in it than other conventional oils. I have also read that the QS GB I have been using has more boron than other oils, and boron is said to be very good for engine seals.

My question is this: PYB obviously has a lot more moly. I wonder if a higher moly content is better for my higher-mileage V6? Would more moly help it run any better/smoother/with less noise? Does a higher moly content protect higher mileage engine internals any better than conventional oil with less moly?

I also read the PYB has a better TBN, and if I understand it correctly it basically means to me that the oil stays in its grade and provides good protection longer than other oils with a lower TBN.

I am not interested in using a "High Mileage" specific oil. I did not like the way my truck ran with Maxlife. It made my truck run a bit sluggish and caused a drop in my gas mileage. I am trying to keep my truck running its best and make it last as long as possible. I would make the switch to PYB if the higher moly and any other qualities would help.

I did do a search on my moly question, but all it really returned was posts about high mileage oils. I would appreciate your info here, or if there are posts I missed maybe if you guys have any links I can check out.

Thanks for your help on this.

Don't worry about an oil that says "high Mileage" on it unless you have consumption issues.