Rentar Fuel Catalyst

Status
Not open for further replies.
Does anyone know anything about this device? http://www.rentar.com/ It is termed a 'fuel catalyst' and that it can reduce diesel fuel consumption on the order of 15% to 20%! Sounds like snake oil BUT, one never knows! Would much appreciate any input on this device if anyone is familiar with its working/non workings, etc. George

George,

I have no experience with this device. I have seen advertisements for in-line fuel catalysts on gas engines. On the gas powered vehicles, they were finally deemed not worthy of anything but relieving ones wallet.

My own personal judgment on the Rentar is that it is nothing more than an accumulator for the diesel fuel. It allows the air in the fuel (foam) to better disperse throughout the spectrum of operation. Much like an accumulator on a refrigerator. High press liquid input, low press output. (Not discussing the capillary operation) This only a guess on my part, and I am probably giving the Rentar to much credit for doing anything. I just don't buy the molecular modification or stabilization or alignment by static electricity or something to that effect.

Yes, the state of CA put some on their school buses, but they were free from Rentar, not purchased. Good sales gimmick as I noticed the State surely didn't purchase any for other buses.

I can run a can of diesel fuel cleaner through the injectors, change oil, and unless other mechanical problems are present, I can pass 99% of all opacity tests, snap or load.

The only thing I can't solve is the crappy diesel fuel sold in the U.S. Dirt, moisture, Phos. are the 3 that come to mind first. And the Rentar won't cure these, and I haven't started on the Cetane rip-offs.