Nissan Versa 2011 Oil suggestions - I'm perplexed

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All, newbie to this forum. I'm an engineer/car buff and I must say that I'm perplexed by what I've been reading in some of the threads here, especially as it concerns synthetic verses conventional motor oil.

I've been a die hard Valvoline guy since I was a teenager and I am now 47. I've been through many repairs and have always been impressed by the cleanliness of a valvoline conventional oil motor. I can also say that I've never had a spun bearing or anything else related to poor oil or oil pressure happen to any cars I've owned. I always relpaced the oil every 3000-3500 miles, typically with fram or napa oil filter.

We have just purchased our first new car, a Nissan Versa with the variable auto trans. I need this to be a 200,000 mile car for us so I thought I would go to synthetic think it was better. The owners manual says that the oil requirements are SAE 5W-30 API or ILSAC with a 7500 mile oil change interval.

My wife drives this car where the shortest trip averages at least 25 miles, 25,000 a year. We live in southern Wisconsin, hot summers and cold winters. I hadn't switched to syn oil but did on this car for the first two oil changes which I did at 3500 miles each. I used Valvoline 5W-30 full synthetic. My thoughts were to switch to syn oil and change at the 7500 mile mark after the first two changes but some of the reading I've done perplexes me. What is right for this application? I need to keep the 100,000 warranty intact as well.

Thanks to all in advance. Gene

Welcome to BITOG!!!
Ive got a 2009 Versa sedan, 6MT, 1.8L. Its now got 27K on the odo, been trouble free thankfully. I drained factory fill at 1500 miles, then again at 3000 miles, after that ive been doing 5K oil changes with valvoline syn or pennzoil platinum. The syn oil has been a lot nicer in the Northeast winters, very cold starts, short trips.