Accidentally overextended

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using Maxlife Semi 5/30 in my '02 ES300 for a few years. The car has 170K miles on it and runs like new. I normally change my oil between 5 and 6K like clockwork and use a Pure One filter.
You couldn't believe the horror when I discovered this last change that I had gone 10K. I didn't realize it was that long as I'm usually on top of these things.
So just to make sure if this happens again, I bought Mobil One HM 5/30. And of course the Pure One filter. As a matter of fact, this is the way I might go from now on and extend my changes to 10K as the $7 price difference between ML and M1 isn't all that significant.

Don't worry about it. I'm sure the Maxlife and P1 didn't notice the difference.

Just watch out for burning on the M1, especially since it hasn't seen full synthetic oils in a few years. M1 burned off in an older car I tried it in. Our Honda doesn't burn a drop of M1 0w-20, and it's run a full synthetic since 11k miles.

The 2002 ES300 uses the 1MZ-FE engine doesn't it? That engine is widely known as a sludge monster. It's what started Toyota's engine sludge issues. Keep your oil change interval low and change your PCV valve often!

tinman beat me to it, this vehicle is a known sludger. That said, one time with a good oil and filter combo following regular maintenance, going to 10k once isn't going to spell the end of the engine.

Because it's a sludger, think I'd stick to no more than 5-6k OCI's with this vehicle in the future, even with M1 or other syn.

Curious how long(time) it took to reach the 10k?

I think the sludge issue depended on when the car was manufactured.
Mine was manufactured after that date.

Quote:
I think the sludge issue depended on when the car was manufactured.
Mine was manufactured after that date.
Just know the 02 ES300 is on the sludger list.