What brand of air tools is the best?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know snap on is probably pretty good but I think half the price you pay is just for the name. What do you guys think about Ingersoll rand air tools?

IR is top of the top IMHO...
campbell hausfeld is mediocre at best.
snap on/mac are relabeled IR I believe..

Snap On makes their own air tools. The Blue point stuff is anybody's guess. I like IR's titanium line.

Ingersoll rand is about the only air tools i've heard of. Currently every air tool I have are porter cable. For some reason the discontinued most of their air tools.

When I worked as a pump jockey in the early '80's, the boss was a crusty old mechanic. He swore by Chicago Pneumatic. He didn't like Ingersoll Rand or anything else. He had an old CP impact gun that always worked.

Please note that Harbor Freight has capitalized on this by selling "Chicago Electric" and "Central Pneumatic" tools that are, of course, made in China. Chicago Pneumatic tools may not all be made in the US, but they're also not made in China.

Originally Posted By: Stelth
When I worked as a pump jockey in the early '80's, the boss was a crusty old mechanic. He swore by Chicago Pneumatic. He didn't like Ingersoll Rand or anything else. He had an old CP impact gun that always worked.

Please note that Harbor Freight has capitalized on this by selling "Chicago Electric" and "Central Pneumatic" tools that are, of course, made in China. Chicago Pneumatic tools may not all be made in the US, but they're also not made in China.

went to harbor, bought a Chicago pneumatic air drill, It worked great for a couple hours as i was building a deck.. then the trigger fell OFF ! i returned it, got another one hopeing it was a fluke.. this second one has about a hours use on it so far. the trigger hasnt fallen off yet.

I have a snap on that i have used since 83, it started giving trouble so I bought another snap on, Im a technician by trade so they get used every day.