2011 mazda cx-7 turbo

Status
Not open for further replies.
hey guys. well this is my first post!! yes im a newbie. but def not new to the automotive oil world. in the past i have tried many diffirent oils from castrol to royal purple, mobile 1 and now i am an amsoil guy. my past cars and bikes have ran amsoil (subaru sti, acura rsx & tsx suzuki hayabusa & 1000). but im constantly looking for anything better especially considering cost.
now on to the real reason for this post.
i have a new mazda cx7 turbo (2.3l). its obviously a big mystery as to what oil (it calls for 5w30) it should have in it, especially when talking with dealerships. i have not recived the same answers from anyone. i have talked to numerous service advisors at numerous dealers and talked to some master techs.. all pretty much said something diffirent (use synthetic, dont use it, use ow20, 5w20, if you use those it will blow your motor etc), it was crazy. so thats why i came here.
my first oil change (around 3500 miles. i wanted to get the break in oil out) was just recently. i just went with what the dealer had which was a blend (according to them) either 5w20 or 30 im not sure. i just ordered amsoil signature 5w30.
i recently ran across some threads that were talking about the motor 2.3 mzr. its also found in the mazda speed 3 and 6. it seems that motor oil, as with any vehicle, is very important in choising the correct one. i think there are some threads on here that talk about issues with this motor having issues.
any info, suggestions will be appreciated.

The amsoil is very high quality oil.

Everything I read suggests that short oil change intervals are needed on this platform, so you may not even need synthetics. Get a UOA performed so you can learn what works for you and your driving.