Basic Grease Question from a Total Newb

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just bought a 1994 Jag XJS (88K miles) recently and intend on maintaining it myself. Got the shop manual and it shows all the zerk points for lubricating. I don't have a grease gun or any grease. I do have a little porter cable pancake air compressor. The 1994 shop manual recommends lithium grease FWIW.

What do I need for a grease gun? What do I need for grease (lithium still the best bet after all this time)?

Bonus question: Also have started doing my wife's '07 Acura MDX, haven't looked at the manual for it yet to see where/how many grease points it has but I'll throw it out there in case it shapes anybody's recommendation.

TIA,
Tony

the mdx shouldn't have any zerk fittings unless a ball joint or tie rod was replaced with an aftermarket unit that has the zerk fittings.

the jag.. well just go down to an autoparts store and buy a grease gun for $15 and a tube of grease is $5.

I like the NAPA guns ,pistol grip style ,Harbor Freight has'em too.The lever style is ok if you dont need a free hand to locate the zerks.

Thanks for the input. Any grease brands to avoid. After reading on here through several pages, there seems to be detractors for every brand. The ones I saw at the local store (O'reilly) were Lucas and Valvoline and both seemed to have pretty negative reviews on here.

Just looked at the NAPA sight, nearest NAPA is about 30 miles away but that's not too bad. Like the look of some of their guns and seemed to have more selection than local.

Stay away from Lucas...Mobil 1 would be a good grease that's locally available. Then there are others you can mail order like Amsoil and Schaeffer.