Oil recommendations for Toro 2 cycle snowblower

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just bought a new Toro 221QE (38584)141cc Two-Cycle snowblower. The recommended oil states that it has to be NMMA TCW III rated. I am assuming it needs marine two cycle because of the moisture in snow. What would be a good 2 cycle to run in this? I use Stihl HP Ultra in my other 2 strokes, but it doesn't have the rating that the Toro requires. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Sorry I can't help you on the Toro oil. But I would like to know what you think about the Stihl oil?? I recently bought a nice two stroke trimmer and I'm considering using it. Tom

I've been running PYB 2-cycle in my Toro snowblower for years. Anything with the appropriate ratings, mixed at the appropriate ratio, will be fine.

I've been using Shell Nautilus for several years now. It is rated TC and TC-W3 and is suitable for 100:1 ratios. Although I no longer have a 2-stroke snow blower (I had a John Deere single stage), I use it in my 2-stroke Honda EX350 generator, and my 9.8 HP Yamaha outboard - both use 100:1.

Ian

Originally Posted By: daddi
Sorry I can't help you on the Toro oil. But I would like to know what you think about the Stihl oil?? I recently bought a nice two stroke trimmer and I'm considering using it. Tom

I like the Stihl oil. Smoke free (even when cold) and not bad smelling coming out of the exhaust. The spark plugs look perfect as well.

Originally Posted By: barlowc
I've been running PYB 2-cycle in my Toro snowblower for years. Anything with the appropriate ratings, mixed at the appropriate ratio, will be fine.

Is PYB TCW-III? I was wondering if I actually have to run the TCW-III or not.

Originally Posted By: Jeepster_nut
Is PYB TCW-III?