ac compressor replacement 1998 malibu

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have decided to replace the ac compressor, accumulator and orifice tube on my daughters 1998 Chevy Malibu. (2.4 four cylinder engine) The car has 181,000 miles on it, we bought it about three months ago. If I add a can of R-134a the compressor will come on and cool for a day, but it will loose the R-134a very quickly. I took the car to a shop for a diagnosis and they told me the compressor was leaking badly.
This is my first time opening an ac system. I have been reading on the internet and realize that I will need to flush the lines to remove any contaminates. Note that the system has not failed, it does not make any unusual noise.
What fluid is best to flush the system?
Can anyone give me any tips or tricks to make the job easier?
Any thing I need to watch out for?
Thanks,
Terry

Well.. any type of A/C flush will work. there's no good or bad flush in terms of brand. I prefer Interdynamics however.

You should also replace the orifice tube, which should be mandatory anyway. AND I'd also replace the receiver/drier because it's been contaminated as well. You'll also be putting 8-10oz of new pag oil in too. meausre out what comes out of the compressor and drier. it should be written on the a/c sticker for how much freon goes back in in US Pounds.

Flushing the lines is easy, however you'll have to find the type that's preloaded in a sprayer, otherwise you'll have to buy a pneumatic flush gun. where you fill up the gun with some compressed air and some flush liquid and shoot it thru the lines.

Make sure you keep ALL receipts because there (usually) is no warranty on a compressor without the drier, orifice tube being replaced as well as a flush and full evacuation.
Without proof, you have merely a taillight warranty.

Most shops in my area refuse to do an evacuate without a refill and vacuum test.