Recent Topics
FBI RAIDS CDC HEAD QUARTERS in Atlanta. Any news?
by Vern_in_IL
01/24/17 05:11 PM
Wiper Chatter
by coopns
01/24/17 04:30 PM
For Canadians - PC launches new website
by Solarent
01/24/17 03:58 PM
How long would a battery still be good if charged?
by y_p_w
01/24/17 03:36 PM
How to unravel CCleaner's deletion process???
by Triple_Se7en
01/24/17 02:00 PM
Mail order eyeglasses?
by JTK
01/24/17 01:55 PM
Pep Boys Computer has bad oil data
by veryHeavy
01/24/17 01:31 PM
Smallest Oil Sump in a car?
by veryHeavy
01/24/17 01:24 PM
2018 Toyota Camry / V6 instead of Turbo
by wemay
01/24/17 01:22 PM
Microgreen and 2012 Honda Pilot Experience
by Eric0919
01/24/17 01:10 PM
Deka batteries = good?
by nthach
01/24/17 12:36 PM
89 chevy truck no high beams
by John_Conrad
01/24/17 11:18 AM
Newest Members
Greasylittlepig, penataquit, dreamerx, Bryan232, Scargo
60275 Registered Users
Who's Online
99 registered (1WildPig, 901Memphis, 87sammy, Al, 9 invisible), 1900 Guests and 16 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
60275 Members
66 Forums
260061 Topics
4287121 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#2437707 - 11/17/11 08:07 PM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: Quattro Pete]
Alamogunr Offline


Registered: 05/10/05
Posts: 156
Loc: Alamo, TN
Thanks. I really am dense.

Top
#2444932 - 11/25/11 10:11 PM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: wwillson]
SubLGT Offline


Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 2303
Loc: Idaho
Originally Posted By: wwillson
....................We prefer that you use a code block because the text remains aligned in the post the way it is typed. You can maintain a UOA history in a text editor .................... then simply paste the text into the code window. To post in a code window simply click on the # symbol.............


Tried the above, did not work for me. Had my (Macintosh) text document perfectly aligned with my headings and data, all in columns on left tabs. The tabs get lost/jumbled when the document is pasted into the code window. The data columns lose their alignment. shrug

Top
#2536622 - 02/14/12 05:16 PM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: wwillson]
teddyboy Offline


Registered: 01/18/10
Posts: 964
Loc: NC, United States
I am more dense. When I hit the # sign and select the code box, I get two boxes with the word code. Where I go from there, I haven't a clue. When I try to copy out of the Blackstone pdf, I am unable to highlight any of the text to copy. Any help would be greatly appreciated, but you need to realize that I have almost no skill here.
_________________________
97 Camry M1 5W30 HM & OEM Filter
14 Camry TGMO 0W20 & OEM Filter
08 Volvo S60 M1 0w40 OEM Filter

Top
#2536651 - 02/14/12 05:50 PM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: teddyboy]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 32738
Loc: Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: teddyboy
I am more dense. When I hit the # sign and select the code box, I get two boxes with the word code. Where I go from there, I haven't a clue.

They you type everything you want to type between these two code tags. That's all there's to it.

Quote:

When I try to copy out of the Blackstone pdf, I am unable to highlight any of the text to copy.

There is no easy way to copy out of the Blackstone pdf. You need to type it all up by hand.

What was suggested previously was to copy text from another person's UOA that's already been posted here, like the one at the top of this thread. This will save you the effort of having to type all the element names from scratch. You will still need to replace the actual values though next to each element with your own from your own UOA report.
_________________________
'02 530i (Edge HM 10W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)

Top
#2536698 - 02/14/12 06:24 PM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: Quattro Pete]
teddyboy Offline


Registered: 01/18/10
Posts: 964
Loc: NC, United States
Thanks for the reply; I still couldn't make it work so just did the best I could.
_________________________
97 Camry M1 5W30 HM & OEM Filter
14 Camry TGMO 0W20 & OEM Filter
08 Volvo S60 M1 0w40 OEM Filter

Top
#2536708 - 02/14/12 06:31 PM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: teddyboy]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 32738
Loc: Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: teddyboy
Thanks for the reply; I still couldn't make it work so just did the best I could.

You mixed up the parenthesis.
_________________________
'02 530i (Edge HM 10W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)

Top
#2536714 - 02/14/12 06:39 PM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: Quattro Pete]
teddyboy Offline


Registered: 01/18/10
Posts: 964
Loc: NC, United States
Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete
Originally Posted By: teddyboy
Thanks for the reply; I still couldn't make it work so just did the best I could.

You mixed up the parenthesis.


I wish I knew what that means.

You must think I'm the dumbest person on the planet. Would it help to know that I have a Ph.D. in economics? Or would that just exacerbate your low opinion? In any event, I really do appreciate your trying. Maybe I'll be more patient when my students can't understand linear regression
_________________________
97 Camry M1 5W30 HM & OEM Filter
14 Camry TGMO 0W20 & OEM Filter
08 Volvo S60 M1 0w40 OEM Filter

Top
#2537024 - 02/14/12 10:47 PM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: wwillson]
teddyboy Offline


Registered: 01/18/10
Posts: 964
Loc: NC, United States
It's a miracle, I figured it out. The copied material goes between the two parentheses. Check out what I did in the test forum.
_________________________
97 Camry M1 5W30 HM & OEM Filter
14 Camry TGMO 0W20 & OEM Filter
08 Volvo S60 M1 0w40 OEM Filter

Top
#2537230 - 02/15/12 08:19 AM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: teddyboy]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 32738
Loc: Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: teddyboy
It's a miracle, I figured it out. The copied material goes between the two parentheses.

Yes. Sorry I wasn't clear on that. Glad you got it working.
_________________________
'02 530i (Edge HM 10W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)

Top
#2537507 - 02/15/12 11:47 AM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: Quattro Pete]
teddyboy Offline


Registered: 01/18/10
Posts: 964
Loc: NC, United States
No apology necessary; the problem was on the receiving end but I did eventually figure it out. Thanks again.
_________________________
97 Camry M1 5W30 HM & OEM Filter
14 Camry TGMO 0W20 & OEM Filter
08 Volvo S60 M1 0w40 OEM Filter

Top
#2538384 - 02/16/12 08:26 AM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: wwillson]
21Rouge Offline


Registered: 06/04/05
Posts: 1954
Loc: Vinegar Hill
BITOG is the only forum I frequent which does not provide storage for uploaded files i.e. jpgs.

Top
#2567211 - 03/14/12 11:00 AM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: 21Rouge]
motor_oil_madman Offline


Registered: 11/29/09
Posts: 3095
Loc: Houston, Texas
I'm pretty sure the guy wants info on his uoa and not a lecture on how to post it.
_________________________
2007.5 dodge cummins 6.7 liter. Chevron Delo400 15w40. 7000 mile or 250-300hr intervals.


Top
#2568113 - 03/15/12 08:55 AM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: motor_oil_madman]
21Rouge Offline


Registered: 06/04/05
Posts: 1954
Loc: Vinegar Hill
Originally Posted By: motor_oil_madman
I'm pretty sure the guy wants info on his uoa and not a lecture on how to post it.


The title of this thread being "How to post used oil analysis results".

Top
#2659553 - 06/20/12 08:13 AM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: 21Rouge]
Sam_Julier Offline


Registered: 05/22/12
Posts: 296
Loc: Connecticut
It would be extremely helpful to be able to upload the PDF of the Blackstone UOA. Could someone list the steps for this please? Thank you.
_________________________
2007 Volvo V70 2.4L PC Duron 0W30, 155k
1993 Volvo 245 Delo 10W30, 120k
1993 Volvo 240 M1 HM 10W30, 128k

Top
#2663261 - 06/24/12 01:06 AM Re: How to post used oil analysis results [Re: wwillson]
jkhawaii Offline


Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 474
Loc: Oahu
posting the UOA using the method not recommended is the only way I know how.

Top
Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >