First oil change for my new car.....

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Folks,

I have a new 2011 Toyota Camry LE (I4) and it currently has 850 miles on it. In the past, I have always changed the factory oil at 1000 miles. I just picked up a couple cases of Castrol Edge 0W20, and I am ready to give my Camry it's first oil change.

Is there any downside to draining the factory oil earlier than Toyota suggests? I have heard factory oil contains higher amounts of Moly. I don't know for sure though....

My primary reason for changing it at 1000 miles is to get any metal debris that may be floating around from the engine break-in period. Right or wrong...that is what I have been doing for many years. It has always seemed like a good idea to me.

Any thoughts or feedback would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance...

Last edited:
run it for 2k then the next 3k then go to regular changes. No reason to dump it at 1k, it contains special additives to aid the break in process.

Originally Posted By: 1999cutiger
Is there any downside to draining the factory oil earlier than Toyota suggests?

The only real downside is wasting perfectly good oil. I would run the factory fill the full Toyota-suggested interval and then start using the EDGE you bought. Also make sure to use a good filter.

I understand that toyota does not want you to change the oil out early and some dealers wont do it even if you ask, i dont know why... Maybe there is something in the oil different from the factory... I dont know what i do know is that we see a lot of toyota engines in here for rebuilds with under 100,000 miles and that was unheard of 10 years ago

Originally Posted By: barlowc
Originally Posted By: 1999cutiger
Is there any downside to draining the factory oil earlier than Toyota suggests?

The only real downside is wasting perfectly good oil. I would run the factory fill the full Toyota-suggested interval and then start using the EDGE you bought. Also make sure to use a good filter.