No TPMS will foul ABS and VSA

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: George Bynum
CapriRacer said:
The problem - then and now - is that the different systems don't all do the same thing.

Some measure the differences in diameter. Some measure the actual pressure. Some .../quote]Capri, the TPMS systems interest me. Are you aware of aftermarket systems that are reasonably priced and will give an in-car display of actual pressure? For playing around, I'd consider reasonable at $300 or so. If junkyard sensors/transmitters are a viable option, whose are easy to integrate?

I have no experience with this one but it sounds interesting
http://www.sigmaautomotive.com/TPMS/TireSafeGuard/tpms_tiresafeguard.php

The temperature readout is a nice plus.

Originally Posted By: XS650
I have no experience with this one but it sounds interesting
http://www.sigmaautomotive.com/TPMS/TireSafeGuard/tpms_tiresafeguard.php

The temperature readout is a nice plus.
looks nice ... did you look at the other items they have ... kinda unusual ... like toys? I may look at it, the $309 is in the range I expected. I'll likely wait until I need tires as they have to be demounted and remounted ... and balanced with this in there. They don't mention what it weighs. The 1.5 psi accuracy is fine; hope they have a "zero" setting in software to balance them at working pressure. With a 150 psi range, looks like trucks are their intended market.

I was also looking for a good aftermarket TPMS for my Civic. I found a few models on tireracks website and liked the Hella brand but not sure if there are better options or not at this time.

We have an 09 Odyssey and I have investigated this issue fairly extensively. If you have the "Touring" model, then you have TPMS sensors that differentiate tire-by-tire. EG, you can tell that the "Driver's Front tire is low" rather than "A tire is low" on all other models.