1994 Honda Accord EX (LX U.S.) - 5W-30 or 5W-20?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey everyone.

As an extension of this thread, I have another question: http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=1950295#Post1950295

The other day, I picked up a 5L jug of Castrol GTX High Mileage 5W-20. Now, this was new to me, as I had only ever saw it in 5W-20 and 10W-30 grades on the shelf, before. It must be new to us here in Canada, or at least that particular Walmart location.

Anyway, I know that Honda states in the manual that they recommend 5W-30 weight oil for the 1994 Honda Accord, and that's what I've been using for the previous 3 years I have owned this vehicle. It has never burned any oil, and has only consumed a very, very marginal amount once during a very cold week in the winter. It has never consumed any oil at normal operating temperatures above freezing.

However, the other day I picked up Castrol GTX High Mileage 5W-20, thinking, for whatever reason, that was what the Accord actually required. I knew that it was a new grade I had never seen before, but for whatever reason, I thought I had always bought it in 5W-30 only because 5W-20 wasn't available.

Now, the easy thing to do for me would be to just exchange it for the 5W-30 grade. However, what I'm wondering is, is that really necessary? Would 5W-20 be fine in this engine?

I'm thinking that perhaps the 5W-20 grade Castrol GTX High Mileage would be fine, and possibly yield slightly better fuel economy, because it is a high quality dino oil.

I just wanted to check with the experts on here, as I am far from an expert in engine oil yet.

The easiest solution, of course, is that I could just exchange it for 5W-30, but when I purchased the 5W-20, I did not see any 5W-30 on the shelf at all. Perhaps Castrol has replaced 5W-30 with 5W-20?

Cheers.