Mazda 6 oil change, 5w-20 or 5w-30

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: 06VtecV6

I've been using 5w-20 on my 2006 V6 Honda that calls for 5w-20 but in 2005 asked for 5w-30 and my car is running stronger then when brand new...ofcourse that is due largely to break-in but I have full confidence that the design of the engine is good enough to offset in extra wear and get me to the 250-300 thousand mile pinnacle we Japanese car wanters seek in earnest..

Too bad the POS Honda transmissions don't have the same longevity. Put down the Kool-Aid, and back away from the bowl.

Drew

Originally Posted By: FiremarshalRob
Good day. I will be changing the oil in my mom's 2007 Mazda 6 tomorrow. I have bought the oil and Motorcraft filter for it aleady.
A few questions.
The 2.3L calls for 5w-20. I bought some dino Valvoline 5w-30 for it. I have researched online and I have read that 5w-20 gives 1% better gas mileage, but yields 30% more engine wear than 5w-30. If this is simply false, I may go with Mobil Clean 5000 5w-20 since that is what's recommended. On the other hand, my F150 calls for 5w-20, and I have always put 5w-30 in it.

Any truths to this or simply a myth?

There is also a conversion kit through Mazda that will allow screw on filters to be used instead of the cartridge. An arguement that you can only get the cartridge from Mazda and it is very expensive seems to be the driving force for people getting the conversion kit. However, I found the motorcraft filter at Wal-Mart for less than 4 dollars.

Has anyone made the conversion to screw on filters for the Mazda 6??

5w-20 for FE, 5w-30 for wear paranoia.