Welding VS. Riveting for New Rocker Panels

Status
Not open for further replies.
It's springtime at long last, and my 1999 Buick LeSabre's rocker panels finally succumbed to 8 years of salty NY winters and 2 years of SC humidity. I'm planning on replacing them, as the rest of the car is intact, and it's cheaper than another car.

So far the plans are to get new (likely aftermarket) rocker panels and install them after cleaning up the corrosion inside the old ones, and gooping POR-15 over every rusted surface so it slows the spread.

My question is: What are the pros and cons to welding and riveting something substantial like a rocker panel? I have no experience welding, and am willing to learn. Riveting is something I've done in the past, and got pretty good at.

You can braze them on and that is very easy to do. You will have to grind or scrap all the flux from the weld joint as it can ruin the mud. Rivets are not going to hold well, and with the flexing you will see cracks in your body work in time. Body shops spot weld, but that is not suitable for home use. Brazing with 3/32 brass rod is easy to do if you get get an oxy-acetylene torch

Last edited:
It is tough welding sheet metal.
Especially old rusted stuff.
I'd use rivets.
You have to seal and blend the area in anyway.

BTW, it's smart of you to coat and prevent rust now.
The extra hours are well worth it.

If you cant weld to it, you can rivet to it either, Grind back until you get to good steel, and weld her up. Then spray oil undercoating after your down to slow down the rust

Biggest issue to me with welding in is that you may not be able to rustproof the insides of the panels or weld seams.

At least with riveting you can control some of that. But I'd use heavy gauge metal, stainless hi-strength rivets, and lots of them.

The areas I'd be bonding to are either underneath the car or covered by door seals. Aesthetics is taking a back seat to functionality.