2005 Corolla- Timing chain bad?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys,

My girlfriends mom has an 05' Corolla, has around 103,000 miles.

One of the family members is a mechanic that does work on the car from time to time. He performed the 100K service; replaced oil/filter, radiator hoses, trans fluid and coolant.

Anyways; the car has been experiencing a "slow" start issue; sometimes 3-4 seconds to crank over. He told them that the timing chain was "loose" or something to that effect and they might think about replacing it in a while.

I'm no mechanic, I just thought this was odd. I'll surely have my mechanic look at it for a second opinion, but wanted opinions/thoughts on this. I checked online and the chain isn't as pricey as I assumed it would be, but I thought it was uncommon for a chain to need replacing at this mileage.

BTW, only issue is long start time. The car runs great and has had 5K OCI's w/ Dino and synthetic. Looks clean in the valve cover. The car gets 180 mile round trips 2-4 times a month.

Thanks in advance guys.

it might just have a weak battery - check the charging system and see if it fixes the slow starting.

but you're right about the chain it should be in good shape

I would check fuel pressure. If the fuel pressure leaks down or doesn'tbuild fast that can cause hard starting.

Thanks for the suggestion; battery was our first thought, but it checks out fine. Not sure about the alternator though, the Checker guy claimed it was good too. Not sure how much that little hand held thing tells you though.

In a situation like this, it is best to check for any TSBs.

Does the extended crank occur during a cold start or after a hot soak?

There are two TSBs out for extended crank times on the Corolla: TSB #EG053-06 and #EG044-06.

EG053-06 references an updated fuel pump assembly. Apparently fuel pump pressure was an issue so an updated fuel pump was developed.