Vibrating push mower

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all, my 2008 craftsman push-mower is vibrating badly. The blade is new and on tight, and the oil is new and perfectly filled. What could be causing this? It is so bad it is unuseable.

Also, I know I'm a small engine mechanic, but I have had so much stress lately over someone I am overloaded and can't think.

Thanks,
TB

Just because the blade is new doesn't mean that it is balanced.

1. Take the blade off.

2. Drive a nail into a stud at a 90 degree angle

3. Balance the blade using that nail by using a grinder and taking a little off of the end that falls while on the nail.

4. Put the blade back on and tighten the bolt snugly.

5. Still have a problem? Take it back to Sears and get them to look at it.

Originally Posted By: Steve S
Take the blade off and start it, see what happens then go from there.

No No No....have someone you dislike start it with the blade off because you will injure yourself doing that. Trust me I found out the hard way.

Troy Built, I too think it's likely to be something with the blade ... possibly balance ... though that's gonna have to be severe to make the machine instantly unusable.

I put on a blade once, got it good and tight ... but the spacer moved out of place as I tightened it and so it was on slightly crooked and did just what you described. This was not easy to tell ... until I got on my knees and looked at the blade horizontally.

I'd take the blade off, check for balance as described above then put it back on VERY carefully making sure all shims & spaces are where they should be.

I just came back from pulling the blade from my 1998 Craftsman it has a Techumse engine. It sure runs quiet without the blade ,smoother as well

Most likely, as others have mentioned, a unbalanced blade, i like to put them on a screwdriver as i sharpen them to balance it out. (hold handle, place blade center hole over driver tip, observe balance)