5w40 instead of 5w30?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys! I own a cadillac cts 2005 with the 3.6l and I always used mobil 1 5w30 supersyn in it that meets the spec gm 4718m. The car has 98k miles on the odo and I'm a sales manager and I do approx. 40-50k miles a year with the car.

I do now a lot of idling with the car and if I'm not idling somewhere, I do 30-40% city and 60-70% highway. I always take very good care of my car (previous and this one) and all my cars lasted way past 200k miles without major problem.

Recently, since the past 10k miles, when idling a lot or when doing a LOT of highway driving (no speeding), the car seems to use some oil ( 1/4 quart per 1000 miles). Maybe the formulation is different than previously?!?!

My questions is this:

-is the 5w40 from Mobil 1 could be good to help the oil consumption on highway?

-Will it change something in my fuel economy? On the bottle it is written that its for turbo and diesel but my car is a regular gasoline engine with spec gm4718m for oil. In the owner manual it only required 10w30 or 5w30 depending of the weather. Will it hurt the engine to use 5w40?

-Or is there another product that meets the specs and has a very good resistance to heat?

Last edited:
and btw, yes, there is a sweepage on the timing cover gasket, a small one that doesn't make any drop on the ground. The dealer wants approx. 1500$ to fix the gasket and I dont have time right now even the money right now to fix this..

A small leak from a gasket, you say? Um, hate to say it, Auto-RX it. Small seal leaks are right up its alley. That may just be enough to have the level drop as you are describing.

If you don't want to go that route, there's no harm in experimenting with a heavier-weight oil unless it will mess up the VVT I'm guessing that 3.6 has.

Auto-Rx it? I'm maybe to chicken to try but what would it do to my engine and/or gasket ? Is there a speacial way to use this? Can it harm the engine?