How good is pennzoil platinum?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have never used any pennzoil products before but i have heard from a veteran truch mechanic at my work that this stuff will clog up my engine. but i am sure that is just old news. Is this a good synthetic motor oil? does it conform well to API SM ratings?

Pennzoil makes some of the best readily available motor oils. They all meet API SM as far as i know, and many people(including myself) use Pennzoil Platinum.

A great oil at a fair price.

Originally Posted By: grease_monkey
I have never used any pennzoil products before but i have heard from a veteran truch mechanic at my work that this stuff will clog up my engine. but i am sure that is just old news. Is this a good synthetic motor oil? does it conform well to API SM ratings?

That old Pennzoil thing doesn't apply anymore. He was talking about wax and such.

The next oil going in my Malibu is Pennzoil Platinum. I just changed the oil in two friends' cars and put in Pennzoil conventional (yellow bottle). Both friends said that oil works really well.

There are mechanics on this site that will tell you otherwise. What your friend told you is an old myth and does not apply to Pennzoil Platinum. Pennzoil makes some of the best conventional and synthetic oil out there. Do your car a favor and use it!

Everyone knows that Valvoline is the one that causes all the wax and sludge build up.

...or was it Quaker State???

Seriously, I've used Pennzoil since 1982 without the first oil related problem.

PP is in my C6 Corvette right now and I am confident that it is providng equal or better protection than the M1 factory fill.

grease_monkey,

Tell your friend to spend some time here.

As for PP, it's a forum favorite favorite - what else do you need to know?

A long long time ago, that was correct. We're talking about late 50's oil, which did leave a wax or parafin build up.
I don't think that's true of any of todays motor oils.