Radiator Cap-- Should I hear a hiss?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been trying to locate a coolant leak in my SL2. It's a 96 with 121,000 miles. I've added about 24 ounces of coolant to it over the last 8 months.

I do not see any visible leaks, nor do I see any oil in the coolant or coolant in the engine oil.

However, today I unscrewed the cap on the pressurized surge tank immediately after an 80 mile highway drive. I didn't get any hiss while removing the cap.

Is this a bad thing? Could it be that my system is not staying pressurized? Would this explain my coolant loss?

Thanks.

I am not an expert on this but I will give you a few thoughts, I do not think the cap is the issue, the coolant has to be leaking out somewhere or going into your oil.

It could be a minor head gasket leak, meaning the coolant loss is so minor that it is not showing up in your oil.

I remember when the Chevrolet Vortec motors were loosing coolant and there was no visible coolant loss, it was later found to be escaping out of the intake manifold and running down the back of the engine where it hit the exhaust pipe and then evaporated.

Have you thought about going to NAPA or CarQuest and buying the dye that you put in the coolant to see if there are any leaks, this will show up with a UV light.

I would also check all of your hose connections too.

Is this car a Saturn or a Mercedes, since I am not sure what an SL2 is.

Originally Posted By: c3po
Is this car a Saturn or a Mercedes, since I am not sure what an SL2 is.

It's a Saturn.

According to the experts over on SaturnFans.com, they said that headgasket problems are extremely rare on the DOHC version of the 1.9L engine, which is the one that I have. Instead, they said that I should check for cracking of the radiator near the transmission line area. I checked that area, and mine is bone dry.

I made an appointment to have Pep Boys pressure test the cooling system tomorrow, so I'll see what they come back with.