5oz of 2 cycle oil per 15-20 gallons good or bad?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Greetings:

Could I use a good synthetic 2 cycle oil to add to my fuel tank (Shell V-Power), at the ratio of 4-5 oz? I have been using Lucas UCL for several years, and with the frigid temps forthcoming, I was concerned about the Lucas UCL becoming too thick! The Lucas UCL is a good product, I get about 27-30 mpg on all of my vehicles, including my 2 1995 lincoln town sig models! The engine runs so much smoother and quieter. Another consideration would be Seaform. What say you? Thanks In advance!

Best Regards

Last edited:
I've been using 2-cycle oil at 1 oz per 4 gallons gasoline since last Easter. I figure it will help extend the life of moving components in the fuel system and provide some top end lube. Surely no harm. There was a 12 page monster thread on it starting then and running to last month: LINK

Except for my race vehicles, all others get a mix of 2 cycle oil in gasoline or diesel depending on the type of the vehicle. I experience better fuel economy overall with no problem that I can see. My scooters and my generators also get a mix of 2 cycle oil.

I use either TCW3 or MMO, you can go 4oz/10 gal which is a 320:1 ratio, or cut it back from there. It takes a little testing to find the proper mix, too much costs mpg and power. I like the 4 oz/10 gallon mix in the winter time, for a little extra protection in the cylinder area.

Frank D

Seafoam is good to add.

I lose power on my truck when I put MMO in at the recommended amount.

Today, I am putting in 4 oz. of smokeless 2-cycle oil in 24 gallons to see how that does

Sounds like a plan, it takes some testing. You could also try MMO at about 500:1 which would be 2.56 oz/10 gallons. I bought a gallon of Pennzoil TCW3 oil which I'm going to try and see if I like it better than the MMO in the Aerostar. I really didn't care for the Lucas, and the price seems very high compared to he MMO and TCW3.

JMO,
Frank D