3000 mile oci w/ synthetics

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was just wondering if there is any advantage to using synthetic when doing 3000 mile OCI. I have a 2003 Dodge Neon with 28k that I just started using Royal Purple 10w30 and WIX filters. I also have a 2005 Dodge Ram Hemi with 1700 miles that I am going to be using Royal Purple 5w20 with WIX filters. Is this overkill or is there distinct advantages to using this high quality oil at short OCI? Yeah.... I'm a noob.
grin.gif

Not in AL. The main advantage would be in arctic climates. Why are you insisting on 3000 miles, Jiffy Lube propaganda?
If you think your warranty requires it, there is no way the dealer is going to require use the "severe service" schedule in the owners manual. There is no way for them to know, unless the blown engine submitted for a warranty claim is full of sludge.

Wow, the new Dodge Ram hemi spec's 5W-20.
shocked.gif

All the advantages of synthetic still apply; better cold starts, better hi-temp characteristics etc., but you lose on the better TBN retention and ability to do extrended drains. Unless the manufacturer spec's. call for syn, I don't think it makes any sense to run a syn if you can't bring yourself to go beyond 3K.

3,000 mile OCI's with dino oil make sense and may be the cheapest and best way to go but it's definitely unnecessary with synthetics. You can use any dino out there and get 300,000 miles or more out of your engine if you stick to 3,000 mile OCI's which is what I do. An oil change costs me less than $7.

What would you say is a good OCI on dino without compromising engine wear? (I buy what's on sale, SuperTech, Exxon, Mobil) Also bear in mind that I want my engine to outlast the rest of the car which usually takes around 300,000 miles and 12-13 years to do.