New Lawnmower! Troy-Bilt Honda, Oil Change Q's

Status
Not open for further replies.
We just acquired a like new Troy-Bilt Pro Cut lawnmower with a Honda GCV160 5.5 engine. It was barely used and the oil still looks like new, apparently it was owned by an elderly couple that had lawn service instead. My question is this, how do you change the oil in it? I found the dipstick but there's no drain plug underneath by the blades, any ideas? Also, does it use SAE30, and how often should I change it? Thanks!

I usually just take the cap/dipstick off and tip the entire mower over and let it drain into a pan.

Anyway, I assume that you don't have any sort of user manual. If not, tipping it over is what I'd do. As for weight, 30 is fine, right now I think I have 15w-40 in mine.

A few more tips,... or bad advice, who knows?

I'm not an expert, but I usually change the oil once a year. I NEVER drain the gas for the winter. That, and changing the spark plug once in a blue moon, and you're set.

I'm not an expert, but I had one basic mower last 25 years, and was still running strong when I gave it to my BIL. This particular mower mowed not only my lawn but several others (I was a teenager earning cash, mowing lawns). The wheels wore out, but the engine kept on running strong. Briggs and Straton from Sears.

My current mower is about 15 years old, heading for 30. So whatever I'm doing can't be all that bad.

Use it in good health!

Tip to the side is correct to drain, unless you have an oil extractor. That engine actually should have 10w30 oil.