More Prius Magic

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: from the linked article
The paper said Toyota would equip solar panels on the roof of the high-end version of the Prius when it redesigns the gasoline-electric hybrid car early next year, and the power generated by the system would be used for the air conditioning.

With the statement about the AC, the whole idea makes more sense. If you follow the Prius/hybrid discussions, you'll see that this issue has come up before. Apparently, and keep in mind I'm a lawyer, not an engineer, given the present solar technology, it is pretty much impossible to use solar to generate anything but a fraction of the juice necessary to drive the car, given the area limitations of the roof of the car. In other words, for now, this is pretty much a "why bother" idea, at least with respect to the propulsion of the car.

On the other hand, a roof full of solar panels would probably be able to generate enough juice to satisfy most, if not all, of the demand imposed by the electric AC compressor, which in the present cars, draws its juice off the traction battery, which in turn lowers mpgs by depriving the drive system of juice used to run the AC compressor.

As a way to power the AC/climate control, this would seem to be a great idea. That said, it remains to be seen whether it will stand up to a rigid cost-benefit analysis in which the added expense of the solar roof is weighed against the potentially increased mpgs. Only time will tell whether the solar roof can ultimately justify itself on those terms.
cheers3.gif

Originally Posted By: ekpolk
Only time will tell whether the solar roof can ultimately justify itself on those terms.
cheers3.gif

Are you implying the Toyota engineers maybe didn't make the proper calculations, or that maybe the Toyota marketing department was pushing for this feature only because they wanted a sellable gimmick?