1994 ford 351 windsor questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a liking to the old 94 body style, so when I saw a real nice shape 351 4 wheel drive for sale I could not pass it up. It has 120,000 on the clock and the motor was very clean on the outside and the oil change records looked good. I have no experience with the 351 and long term durability. What weight oil does this higher mileage motor like? Any info. is appreciated.

What oil did the previous owner use ? If the engine seems clean
and there are no leaking or burning issues, then use what they used. If you don't have this info I'd start with any of the brand name conventional oils in either 10w-30 or 5w-30. If you
suspect there may be some issues then perhaps you will want to go with one of the high mileage oils but stay with the same grade. Valvoline Maxlife 10w-30 seems to be a great default oil for older engines with an unknown history, but get the blend, not the full syn.

SS

2000 Honda Accord 3.0
2004 Honda Pilot 3.5
Mobil Clean 5000 / Pure One

I have a 93 F-150 with a 351W in it. Ford's retro active spec calls for 5W-20. Let see...I ran Mobil 1 SUV 10W-30 in it, Amsoil ASL 5W-30, Amsoil HDD 5W-30 and now run Amsoil ASM 0W-20. I have 123k on mine. I would use a 5W-20, 5W-30 or 0W-20 oil.

From what I hear they are pretty bullet proof engines, and preferred over the 5.0L, esp in trucks.

Originally Posted By: XPR

From what I hear they are pretty bullet proof engines, and preferred over the 5.0L, esp in trucks.
Much larger main bearings. I'd look into a new timing chain and gears at that much milage with one.

Right. The timing chain should be replaced as a preventative measure. If it has nylon coated gears, they break off and plug the oil pickup, starve the bearings, and puke the motor. Old and dry valve seals can break apart and do the same thing.