Best oil for older engines

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to this site, but what a wonderful source of information. I have a 1981 Jeep CJ7. It has the original AMC 304. I am getting ready to do MY first oil change, and I was wondering what suggestions you guys have. The engine has about 165,000 miles. Any help is appreciated. I have read so much stuff about different types of oil, now I can't decide which is the best option for me.

Thanks.

Amsoil 10W-40 either the XL or AMO versions. This assumes your not loosing oil anywhere. Don't worry about the miles on it, you can still switch to synthetic.

If you want to see what the inside of a 1977 Corvette engine running Amsoil looks like, check the photo section.

I am not losing any oil, but say that I was. What would that change from an oil standpoint? Pardon my ignorance to oil, but I am new to all of this TLC that older engines require.

I have some stuff at http://systems-engineering-associates.com/papers look under "avocation"
Originally Posted By: renegadeking81
I am new to this site, but what a wonderful source of information. I have a 1981 Jeep CJ7. It has the original AMC 304. I am getting ready to do MY first oil change, and I was wondering what suggestions you guys have. The engine has about 165,000 miles. Any help is appreciated. I have read so much stuff about different types of oil, now I can't decide which is the best option for me.

Thanks.

I would still look at the material on-line above. In my 42 year old supercharged Avanti, I do NOT use synthetics, not because it is bad for the car but it is hard to get one in the higher viscosities. What most of us with "classic" cars do, unless the engine was rebuilt to modern standards, is use 15w-40/40 in the summer and yearlong in the south, and lighter in the winter up north.