Wondering If I Can Do 12 Months OCI

I'll be coming up on my 6 month OCI time in 2 or 3 weeks. I run Castrol Edge 0w20 FS.
I've never done this before. I only drive up to 5k miles a year.

I'm hoping to ignore the urge to OCI at 6 months and keep running this oil until late March 2021.
I love my Prius c.

DSC_7243ae.jpg

Don't really see a problem extending to a yearly oci.
does the car see repeated short trips ? if so take it out on good run every week or two.

Don't really see a problem extending to a yearly oci.
does the car see repeated short trips ? if so take it out on good run every week or two.
Mostly all around town trips of 5 to 10 miles.

If you can get a 25 or 30 minute drive in a couple times a month, then I would not hesitate to recommend a 1 year oil change interval. You need to get the oil warm enough for long enough to get rid of any condensation that can get in the motor oil. And living in Tennessee, you are absolutely getting condensation in the oil when the engine cools down.

If all your driving is 20 minutes or less, with longer drives far and few between, then I'd stay with the 6 month oci.

I think with a hour run in your beautiful countryside and or mountains a couple times a month to get the engine oil good and hot should get you through to yearly changes.

I would imagine running around town your mostly on battery power ?

If you can get a 25 or 30 minute drive in a couple times a month, then I would not hesitate to recommend a 1 year oil change interval. You need to get the oil warm enough for long enough to get rid of any condensation that can get in the motor oil. And living in Tennessee, you are absolutely getting condensation in the oil when the engine cools down.

If all your driving is 20 minutes or less, with longer drives far and few between, then I'd stay with the 6 month oci.

I'll take her out for more short 30 minutes trips and stick with the 12 month OCI, and get a UOA in March and see how it looks.