Why wear wedding ring after spous' death?

I don't wear mine either. Too easy to get hurt working with tools and your hands besides sometimes my fingers swell up and a ring would be problematic. She doesn't care. We've been welded together for almost 50 years emotionally and financially anyhow. No way to unscramble that egg.

I’m a semi mechanic and don’t wear one while working. I wear a silicone band otherwise. This brings up something else. What I’ve noticed by walking in cemeteries are couples head stones. I often see a dead spouse and wonder if the wife or husband engraved on the stone is really 100 plus years old or if he/she remarried and no longer wants to Rest In Peace next to the previous spouse.
I came across one where the the first spouse died around 1980 and the second spouse lived past 2000. The manufacturer of the stone took the liberty of inscribing 19 below the spouses name way back then and now they had to mount a cheap look plastic cap glued to the stone with 2002 on it.

My friend's father died when we were in high school. His widow (my friend's mother) switched her wedding band over to her right hand.

I thought this was wise - it was a reminder of her late husband, and yet didn't immediately show that she was married. She was young at the time 40ish) and did remarry a few years later.

At this point, with me being 64 years old and married 33 years, if my wife were to die before me, I doubt I would remarry. There's so much love and so much great shared experience that I think I would prefer to keep busy with family and friends rather than try marrying again.

Besides, I'm quite nerdy and introverted and have offbeat interests and a weird sense of humour - not exactly prime dating material.

But in any case, both of us seem to be in good health, so hopefully we'll have many more years together.