Why isn't Pennzoil the clear dino choice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
With a superior base oil (Group II+) and a custom blended additive pak (as opposed to a premixed one) why isn't Pennzoil the hands down choice over other regular dino oils? (5w30/10w30) I am not a Pennzoil bigot, I had always heard that Pennzoil sludged up engines.
I have been using Quaker State 5w30 in my 1997 Grand Caravan since I bought it (110,000 miles, 5000mi OCI) and am looking to change to something better. Pennzoil, Chevron/Havoline all look like fine oils but Pennzoil seems to be superior. I'm no oil expert and would like to know from those who are why would Chevron/Havoline (or other) dino oils be reccomended over Pennzoil?
.....................Doug

Havoline/Chevron Supremme is typically a bit cheaper than Pennzoil and yields excellent UOA's.

Pennzoil is the most popular dino acording to Amkeer's 5 page thread.

Pz, QS, and Valvoline all have high every-day prices for someone who is buying best value dino oil.

GTX is .90 less for a 5 quart jug.

Like Andyfish said......part of the initial attraction to Chevron/Havoline is the lower price. On a 5 qt. change one could save enough money to pay for a Supertech filter.

There have been some UOA reports that show virtually no wear and the oil holding up very well.....with Chevron, Havoline. There have been similar reports with Castrol GTX and even Citgo Superguard. Point is, there simply is no one clear choice for all motors, conditions and drivers. Being a "technically" superior product (and I'm not convinced it is) really doesn't mean much if another product can produce as good or better results for less cost. I'm not knocking Pennzoil....not by any means. I too think it is an excellent motor oil and wouldn't hesitate to use it. Just that there are other choices that will do the job equally well for less cost.