Why do auto parts stores not carry bolts needed for cars

If it’s anything important, you don’t want parts store bolts anyways. They’re made by Dorman. Ick.

You're better off doing what you did and going to the hardware store.

My daughters BMW bolt broke that holds the bracket for her tensioner pulley.
OMG a nightmare getting the bracket off to remove the bolt. Its the entire oil filter housing bracket.
M8 bolt 110 mm long(4 1/8 )
Advanced or napa did not have it. Couldn't even offer to get one.
This is a grade 8.8 bolt, I guess this is a standard metric grade.
I ended up getting two at ACE that was a bit longer and will be cutting 1/4 off it so it wont bottom out.
Just venting why auto parts stores don't have what we need to repair our cars.
i was a commercial parts pro at advance auto for over 7 years and i still know where that bolt would be, at least the metric thread. the question is a a fellow beamer owner, i'm about to get my third in a couple of days, why did the bolt break. now back to advance, the carquest deal is garbage. and i have first hand bad experience . needed a new gas cap, part was garbage it broke off leaving a piece in the filler so i could not pump gas. i returned the cap and blasted the women to get me the store tools to get the piece out, which i did and used the original part that is now 15 years old !!

My daughters BMW bolt broke that holds the bracket for her tensioner pulley.
OMG a nightmare getting the bracket off to remove the bolt. Its the entire oil filter housing bracket.
M8 bolt 110 mm long(4 1/8 )
Advanced or napa did not have it. Couldn't even offer to get one.
This is a grade 8.8 bolt, I guess this is a standard metric grade.
I ended up getting two at ACE that was a bit longer and will be cutting 1/4 off it so it wont bottom out.
Just venting why auto parts stores don't have what we need to repair our cars.