where's the "on/off" connection?

Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
3,832
Location
los angeles
I'm trying to find out where the wires from the on/off button go to on an asus a7v266. Someone cut the terminal off and there isn't no connection terminal left on the mobo. Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2003
Messages
8,711
Location
Nothern USA
Good luck. You may need to go online to the website of whoever made the mother board or do a search on the model number of the board.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2003
Messages
36,723
Location
ME
If you're able to get it running once (by manually shorting the jumper, say) you can get into the BIOS and tell it under power management to come on when the thing is plugged in.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Messages
25,050
Location
ON, Canada eh?
You could also jump the two wires in the ATX power supply directly instead of doing it on the mother board. Just cut back the insulation on these two wires without cutting the wires and wire your switch up to each one. Solder the connection if you can, and then cover with heat shrink tube or duct tape. ;\)
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2003
Messages
11,831
Location
Illinois
It appears there is a keyboard power on jumper, perhaps you could enable this. Read the manual provided it's in there.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2002
Messages
18,846
Location
Silicon Valley
 Originally Posted By: StevieC
You could also jump the two wires in the ATX power supply directly instead of doing it on the mother board. Just cut back the insulation on these two wires without cutting the wires and wire your switch up to each one. Solder the connection if you can, and then cover with heat shrink tube or duct tape. ;\)
It is different than a physical power on/off. Your power button serves as a signal to the OS to shut down before powering off the system. Also when your system crash, holding the power button for >4 seconds will trigger a forced power off. I'd say bring the MB to someone to solder on the power and reset signal at the very least, or just buy another A7V266. They are probably less than $30 on ebay now. Heck, I got mine for $75 7 years ago and I'm still using it.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Messages
25,050
Location
ON, Canada eh?
You can shut down the computer using the Operating System and you can shut it off when it freezes by unplugging it. I don't see what the problem is... ;\)
 

daves66nova

Thread starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
3,832
Location
los angeles
The on/off wires are just hanging there. I'll have to check those suggestions first,i'm at work on their blocked computers.
 

daves66nova

Thread starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
3,832
Location
los angeles
still at work.What will the connections on the mobo say,or what should i look for? It might be a few days before i can use a non-restricted comp. BTW, anyone here from Fresno?
 
Top