What oil to use in 2002 VW Passat V6

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, so I did a lot of reading before posting, and this is my first post. Sorry if I do something wrong. I did not find anything like my scenario or anything helpful. I just recently bought a gas 2002 VW Passat V6 with 170,000 miles. I live in Michigan and the winter is approaching quickly. It gets anywhere from 0 to 25 degrees Fahrenheit during the winter. I am a college student who drives 45 mins total (there and back) to school each day, mainly highway. On the weekends I deliver pizza in a 5 miles radius, all small town roads. I take it as easy as I can on my cars so they last. I bought this car from a friend who I know took care of it and did a lot of work on it. Mainly front end work. I do need to replace the valve cover gasket because there is a small leak. Not a hard job.

My question is, what oil is the best to use during the winter and possibly even summer? The previous owner replaced the oil pump recently with a heavier duty one. The manual calls for is 5W-40 or 5W30. However, the previous owner insists to use 15W-40 or 10W-40 during the winter and 20W-50 during the summer. Should I listen too him? He said he has never had an issue. He always put either a blend or full synthetic. Any advice would be great and greatly appreciated.

So why would he suggest that I use a thicker oil? Because it makes sense to me that I use a thinner oil during the winter months. I was thinking 5W-40 for the winter.

Originally Posted By: Trav
Castrol Edge 0w40 meets the spec for this engine and its a good year round oil.

Seconded. Meets all the Euro specs. It's readily available in 5 quart jugs. And it has titanium in it... which is neat I guess.

Originally Posted By: GreggDre