What are the real dangers of non-API rated oil?

Status
Not open for further replies.
What are the real dangers of non-API rated oil?

I've been kicking around on BITOG for a couple of months now and I can certainly say that I'm giving a lot more thought to the oils I choose than I used to. The reason I ask the above question is that I have been intrigued by the Brad Penn Grade 1 0W-30 for a couple of reasons. First, one of my vehicles is an '05 SRT-4 and although I'm not sure if the Dodge turbo motors are particularly hard on oil, I do want to give it the best I can. To my way of thinking, and this is probably just me, I like the idea of the combination of a true grp IV synthetic and the benefits of a top quality conventional oil and several forum members on here that I respect have suggested that the PA grade oil is some of, if not the best, out there.
Secondly, I am a big promoter of the state of Pennsylvania. IMHO, I've travelled to over 40 states and I still think PA is best. I really like the idea of supporting a PA based company using PA oil. The Penn Grade 1 0W-30 meets both of those goals.

I do believe it is a good oil and would give increased protection but at the same time I wonder what, if any, real world damage the racing formulation (higher zinc and phosphorus levels) would do to the car? I've heard it will damage cat converters but haven't actually heard of a documented case of a converter failing due to motor oil. And converters have been in use for over twenty years now and oil of a decade past certainly had much higher levels off these chemicals. Wouldn't you have to be burning a lot of oil for this to even be an issue?

Any other ways a racing oil/non-API certified oil would/could hurt an engine? Specifics appreciated.