Watch out for RTV Expiration Dates

I purchased this tube of Hondabond HT in Dec 2021.

EE4BA2C0-4394-4009-8F2C-DE8630AE7CF6.jpeg

Upon closer inspection, the code on the bottom of the tube says "Lot U21E29 JD 21162." Since HondaBond HT tubes do not list an expiration date like the Toyota FIPG tubes, I reached out to a contact at Threebond. My contact advised that this product was manufactured in May 2021 and is expired. Apparently, this particular Threebond product only has a 9-month shelf life when unopened.

Needless to say, this tube is going in the trash. It is always a good idea to verify expiration dates for products that could result in a costly redo. RTV is becoming one product where shelf life is highly variable and must be carefully monitored.

i call BS on some of these expiration dates. i have a bottle of loctite i have been using for 10 years and it still works the same. supposed to have a 1 year shelf life

how about doing an experiment and applying your tube to some parts and see what happens.

how about doing an experiment and applying your tube to some parts and see what happens.
I'll send you the tube if you want to experiment for me. I am doing chains and a lower oil pan on a K24, not exactly a job that I want to repeat for fun.

EDIT:

Just an example, but not from me:

I personally had a tube of 1207b (fipg black) that was used (but capped) for several weeks. The tube had not reached its expiration date yet. I used it to do a cam housing and it was a bit more difficult than usual to squeeze out. I had a bad feeling about it, so I tore it back down several hours later. The sealant was still wet in a few spots. I bought a new tube and it squeezed out like butter.

Expired sealants are a YMMV situation. Sometimes they are OK and just take a bit longer to cure. But sometimes, they won't fully cure at all.

Last edited:
Does Permatex label their stuff with an expiration date? Can't say I've ever looked...