Was This The 1st Turbo Version of Ford's 2.3L I4?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I graduated college in 1986. Used to want either a 1986 Thunderbird Turbo Coupe or 1986 Mustang SVO Turbo, but was too cash strapped as a new grad to pull either off. Got married few yrs later, first child born, bought 1st house, still new in the career, dreams of the turbos gave way to necessity and realities.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ford_Mustang_SVO

https://www.hemmings.com/blog/2013/07/29/lost-cars-of-the-1980s-ford-thunderbird-turbo-coupe/

So I was thinking about the fact that FoMoCo is still bolting turbos to the very venerable 2.3 I4, although the current version of the engine is way updated. 2020 Ford Ranger, Mustang, Explorer, etc.

The 2.3T lima would have been the first Ford 2.3 turbo.

However, the 2.3T they're putting in the Ranger, Explorer, Mustang, Focus RS and I'm sure more is a completely different engine. It's an evolution of the MZR (Ford/Mazda venture) I4. Updated significantly from the Duratec 4s we saw in the ealy/mid 2000s; it is more Mazdaspeed 3 than the old 2.3T in 80s.

Ya the only thing similar between the 2 is that they are a 4cyl with a turbo and the threads for the oil filter are the same. The old ones took a FL-1A while the new ones take a FL-910S.

According to Wikipedia, the first 2.3 turbo was offered in carbureted form in the 1979 Mustang, Capri and Fairmont (!?) Yes you read that right.

1983 was the first fuel injected version. Intercooling came later. Some versions had a manual switch you could toggle based on whether you were running regular or premium, because it was before the days of knock sensors.

Ford once made a 4.0 V6. Jeep once made a 4.0 inline 6. Just because they're the same displacement doesn't mean they're the same engine.