Variation in idle smoothness with different TC-W3 brands?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Have any TC-W3 users noticed any variation in engine idle behavior with different brands of TC-W3 oil?

I'm new to this gas spiking, apart from MMO on & off over the years. My '07 4Runner got MMO at the recommended 4oz/10gal dose on & off since I bought it last year at 163K miles with a worn-out timing chain. Back then with or without MMO, it idled as un-smoothly as my previous Tacoma 4 cylinder. Not annoying or harsh, but it was easy to tell that the engine was running at idle. MMO made no detectable improvement in idle smoothness, and MPG data was limited to the dashboard average MPG display which showed no discernible improvement in fuel mileage at the time.

After the entire timing kit was replaced, idle smoothness with MMO was so good I had to check the tach to see if the engine was running. Both with AC on and off. This was unexpected, as I had assumed that the VVT system had been compensating for the chain elongation.

Last week I discontinued MMO and started my TC-W3 regimen with Quicksilver oil at 1oz/5gal, clearly visible TC-W3 logo on the front of the bottle. No immediate change in behavior, but it had 1/4 tank (~8 gal estimated based on 23 gal tank capacity) of MMO mixed gas when I filled it. I loaded 3oz of Quicksilver and it took 15.37gal of gas...very close to 1oz/5gal.

No immediately noticeable change in idle smoothness over that tank of gas that I could detect, until over the weekend when I was idling in gear at a drive-thru window...I could feel the engine running. No harsh vibration, I turned off the AC and could still feel the slight harmonic vibration in the steering wheel and seat. Still smoother than it was with the worn-out timing chain and MMO in the gas, but noticeably less smooth at idle with the new timing set and with MMO in the gas.