Type of oil in a propane 4 cyl forklift?

Status
Not open for further replies.
hello to all!

i just joined last night for fun. here it is the next day and i need help. i don't know what kind of engine oil to use in this Clark forklift. It is a 4 cylinder propane fueled engine. I do not know the model but the only 2 clues that may help is it says "Clark Equipment" on the valve cover and has a One Source brand oil filter number PH8A.

Thank you for all your help.

thanks a barrel. (har har) anyway, thanks for your help. I'm a passenger vehicle tech and am finding out, by way of this forklift, they are theoretically the same, with their own quirks. didn't want to blow it up.

is that compression oil or spark (ignition) oil?

thanks again

Last edited:
The LPG engines' oil suffers from high nitration. What oil is best for that, I dunno besides RLI Biosyn.

See if you can reference the owner's manual for general info.

17.5 years of working at a Clark dealership the oil to use is a HDEO. Probably a C500 40?ish .I think the oil filter may be the trans filter.

Originally Posted By: kellee
hello to all!

i just joined last night for fun. here it is the next day and i need help. i don't know what kind of engine oil to use in this Clark forklift. It is a 4 cylinder propane fueled engine. I do not know the model but the only 2 clues that may help is it says "Clark Equipment" on the valve cover and has a One Source brand oil filter number PH8A.

Thank you for all your help.

I have a Caterpillar T30 lift truck and I use Amsoil Natrual gas engine oil, you can ask Gary Allen or Pablo BITOG site sponsors about the product, I will post up some information below, It performs great all year long and I have had it in my lift truck now 4 years.

SAE (20W)-40 Synthetic Natural Gas Engine Oil (ANG)
Formulated to Provide Top Efficiency in Engines Fueled by Natural Gas

Low Ash, API CC

5-Gallon Pail
55-Gallon Drum

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION