trooper burns 1qt of oil per ~150-200 miles

Status
Not open for further replies.
so I have been doing a lot of reading on the forums. So my engine burns a lot of oil. It is not a saturn, though I have been on their forums for information. Sadly my car is a year that came with a flawed piston design. The year after they added 4 more drain holes in the oil groove. My pistons combined with bad maintenance burns a lot of oil. I was lied to about it, but at the same time I probably would have still gotten it since 5 speeds in this truck is a gem.

Anywho, I have been running synthetic diesel oil for the past 2 years. A few Marvel Mystery Oil runs and thats about all I've done so far. The oil turns black within 1k. I recently changed the valve cover gaskets on both banks and the heads were clean. Some gunk on the covers but nothing major; it was very very minor. I assume there is some gunk on the low end of the engine. And sadly i cant take it off for inspection/cleaning. I dont have a garage or drive way. If I did i would have rebuilt this thing already or put in a diesel.

I am currently putting 100 bucks from each pay check into a savings account which I will use to rebuild the engine eventually. A complete over haul. The improved pistons as well.

in the mean time I am just hoping for miracles. If I could just get the hardened carbon out of the oil rings I will be 100% happy because thats where the problem lays. Is there any product that you guys think would work?

So far I have compiled a list of products that people have had results with, but im not sure what to try or which will have the highest chance of helping me since most of the stuff I've found online is on cars with lowers miles than mine so I assume the gunk in the oil rings has not completely turned into hardened carbon. BTW, my engine has 150k on it.

-MMO piston Soak(what saturn people do, but it seems like the ones with high mileage dont really get results)