Toyota OEM Cartridge Filter, Cut Open 12,669 Miles

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nick1994

$100 site donor 2024
Here's an OEM cartridge filter off of my aunt's 2016 Toyota Avalon, has the 3.5L V6 2GR-FE. 23,428 miles on the car, 12,669 miles on the filter. Filter was from a dealer oil change while on a trip in Montana last June, so it was also dealer bulk 0w20. I changed it 2 months ago but decided to get it out and take some pictures for the "Cut & Post". Used the Canon Rebel EOS T6, one of the first times I've used is so I'm an amateur, and the sun was at a weird angle.

2m343ux.jpg

2w7ivjs.jpg

ang5s5.jpg

smwt4p.jpg

161ly80.jpg

Interesting! I wonder what the engineers and mechanics think of the pictures. I'm a DIY without any knowledge of what I would be looking at. DCG

What are the white specks? Real or illusory? Otherwise, it looks good, much like he smaller Toyota OEM filter I removed with about 17.5k. Can you see anything else it caught?

Originally Posted By: CR94
What are the white specks? Real or illusory?

It's illusionary. It's just the fiberous aspect of the media.

Originally Posted By: Nick1994
12,669 miles on the filter.

It still looks new... not even discolored!

Originally Posted By: Linctex
Originally Posted By: Nick1994
12,669 miles on the filter.

It still looks new... not even discolored!

The engine is still very new at 23,500 miles so not much soot and blow by in that engine.

What?! No end caps, no center tube... this is impossible!!! Oh right, the integrity of the filter comes from tight, even and plenty of pleating! What a concept.

Thanks for the C&P.

Originally Posted By: webfors
What?! No end caps, no center tube... this is impossible!!! Oh right, the integrity of the filter comes from tight, even and plenty of pleating! What a concept.