Toyota 2AZ-FE hard on oil?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a 2009 Pontiac Vibe (bought new) with the Toyota 2.4 2AZ-FE engine. I'm a very easy-going driver, and at least 80% of my driving is around 100km/h (about 60-65MPH). My daily commute is 58km each way. Fuel economy averages between 7 and 7.5 L/100km (about 31-34 MPG U.S.) The car currently has about 21,000km on the odometer. Warm-up times are minimal - I live only 200m from the freeway on-ramp. Cold idling is usually kept to under 1 minute.

I've been using Motomaster Synthetic 5W20 for the last two oil changes. This is a SOPUS product sold at Canadian Tire. I ran it for about 7,500km the first change, and I'm only a bit over 4,000 on this one (just over a month). The oil appears to be darkening up more than I'm used to seeing at such a low mileage. It's a rather dark tan color now. I always figured that the darkening of an oil was it doing its job cleaning the engine - but I don't think I should have much cleaning needed yet.

Admittedly I'm using a fairly inexpensive oil filter - Defense by Honeywell (probably the same guts as those Orange cans). Virtually all of my driving is on fully paved highway - and it's often wet around here - so dust isn't much of an issue. In my mind I can't see the need to run a really "premium" filter under my driving conditions. Even my air filters don't usually look bad after 50,000kms in my cars. Would this filter somehow contribute to this early darkening? If so, please educate me! I'm interested...

If there is a certain oil that seems to work well in these engines, I'd be interested to know. I've had good results with this oil in other applications, so I stocked up a bit when it was last on sale. I'm not interested in doing extended drains until it's out of warranty - and not necessarily even then. The manufacturer's specified 8,000km OCI does seem a little short to me though - by today's standards. Too bad it doesn't have an OLM.