Torque Wrench Checker

Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
25,569
Location
CA

Are these accurate for the purposes of testing a torque wrench? Obviously, if a torque wrench is out of calibration, it would still need to be sent in for repair/adjustment. But it would be nice to have something for testing.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
3,897
Location
Virginia
Can your basic Craftsman-level torque wrench even be calibrated if it's found to be off, or is it then just a matter of knowing how far off it is and making mental adjustments when needed, like having a speedometer that's off?

Sorry for the semi-hijack.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
6,709
Location
down in the park
connect 2 torque wrenches together, both should read the same. you have a digital torque wrench, no? 2 old sockets welded together would be enough.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2011
Messages
10,248
Location
North Carolina
Looks like a nice instrument to have, however:

You'll have to send that out for calibration periodically to know that it's accurate. If you have several torque wrenches, I can see the value.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
1,778
Location
Vancouver
In a former life I assembled engines for a living and we had a digital version of one of those on the wall, I used it twice a day. We used to calibrate our torque wrenches, along with that tool twice a year, on offset three month intervals. It's a nice thing to have.
 

The Critic

Thread starter
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
25,569
Location
CA
Looks like a nice instrument to have, however:

You'll have to send that out for calibration periodically to know that it's accurate. If you have several torque wrenches, I can see the value.
I suppose they have a cycle count between each calibration? My Snap-On Techangle wrenches are supposed to be calibrated every 5,000 cycles.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2011
Messages
10,248
Location
North Carolina
I suppose they have a cycle count between each calibration? My Snap-On Techangle wrenches are supposed to be calibrated every 5,000 cycles.
I have always been required to send mine out for cal annually.

It may have a cycle count. It's probably not in danger of being dropped or knocked out of cal.
 

Kestas

Staff member
Joined
Jun 4, 2002
Messages
14,092
Location
The Motor City
Can your basic Craftsman-level torque wrench even be calibrated if it's found to be off, or is it then just a matter of knowing how far off it is and making mental adjustments when needed, like having a speedometer that's off?

Sorry for the semi-hijack.
I had my JC Whitney torque wrench calibrated at work. It torqued 10% low in the range I use. So I just dial in 10% more than spec, or use it at the prescribed torque if there is neverseize on the threads.
 
Top