This is why you don't put stop leak in your A/C

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anduril

Thread starter
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
1,468
Location
Perris, CA
Compressor didn't fail. It's leaking from the case so I'm replacing it, but it builds pressure and cools fine when it has refrigerant in it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
10,631
Location
Virginia
I agree with you on this. That ac pro junk with that extra garbage in it is not a good idea. Regular r134a is all that is needed in a system like mine and many others. Plus... Regular r134a is much cheaper as well.
 
Joined
May 21, 2012
Messages
6,762
Location
Fort Lauderdale, FL
That's a poster child for a perfect tube compared to most of what we see. I'm talking every screen pushed in and looking like it was dipped in cooling magma.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
10,110
Location
Waco, TX
Originally Posted By: Chris142
That's not even that dirty. I have some on display that are completely packed.
Agreed... Hard to imagine how the system was still functioning with some I've seen
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2004
Messages
9,999
Location
California
I've never pulled an orifice tube from an AC system. I was expecting more chunks or complete blockage. I'm not a fan of any all-in-one refrigerant, but if a car's next stop is a junkyard then I'm fine with it. I admit to using AC Pro in a friend's truck - reading the MSDS reveals that it uses methylene chloride along with a unlisted ingredient as the "system safe" sealer. Probably a seal swell agent. There's much, much, much worse on the market as far as stop leak goes.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2003
Messages
25,923
Location
Apple Valley, California
Some stop leak products turn into cement when exposed to humidity in the air. Those are real nice to fix. Last one we did included pulling a dash to replace a plugged evaporator. Cost $2800.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2003
Messages
25,923
Location
Apple Valley, California
Originally Posted By: bbhero
Wow!! Holy cow.
that included 8 or so hrs @ $90/hr to pull the dash.it was a ford truck with a 6.0 diesel so I have to remove tbe motor mounts and jack the engine up to get to the compressor. Major labor on those.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top