Synthetic oil recommendations 2009 Altima 2.5L

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All,

I have a 2009 Altima Coupe 2.5L 115K

Owner's manual recommends 5/30 API SM oil. Oil change recommendation is 3,750 miles. I have always used synthetic, Mobil 1 or Amsoil, in just about everything I own and owned.

I live in SE Pennsylvania, go Eagles, so it definitely gets cold in the winters and hot in the summers.

I am an extremely easy driver, I don't race from light to light etc. I am 61 years old so my racing days are over.

I normally just do short jaunts to run errands etc, mostly city driving. There are quite a few times when I know the oil temp is not getting hot enough to get rid of any condensation.

I just bought the car 1500 miles ago back in September of 2018 so I don't know it inside out. The oil is fresh and it had oil changes done regularly according to the CARFAX. I don't know of any problems, the car runs great and is clean as a whistle. A steal at $3000!

I have Purolator Boss filters for this car and am definitely thinking at Amsoil again, the Signature 5/30. I only plan on changing my oil once a year and the filter twice, as I only put on maybe 3-4k a year. I used Amsoil in the Kenworth truck with a 525 Cummins I had
in the 90's and early 2000's and had incredible luck with that. I was also looking at the RLI HD SHP 5/30.

Thanks for any advice and expertise!

Hello and welcome!

For such low mileage on your annual OCI, I suggest Pennzoil Platinum. I like both Amsoil and RLI, but I'd only use them for OCIs of 10k miles or more owing to their cost.

And honestly, ANY quality full synthetic oil will get you through a one year/<5k mile OCI. Mobil 1, QSUD, Platinum, SuperTech, etc.

And do I understand you to say you plan on changing your oil filter twice per year?

Last edited: