splain me oh wise ones

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a windows novice and somewhat of a a mac-unix expert. Why does everyone run so much ____ on their windows boxes? Seems to me a good Hardware FW. Good email and browsing habits and an occasional spyware/virus scan would be sufficient? I hate having unneccesary stuff running in the backround etc. The one windows box I have I use FF and TB a hardware FW and I disable active X in IE when I am forced to use it. I do an occasional scan but never run any software continuously. I like the sys lean and mean? Does this make any sense?
stirthepot.gif

Home has XPP SP2 with Panda Platinum Internet Security, SpywareBlaster, a-squared, SAS, AMUST Registry Cleaner, CCleaner.. This work PC has SAS, Counterspy, CCleaner, SpywareBlaster, and IT's useless Trend Micro Officescan. I don't want think about how much time I spend keeping everything up to date

Good read...snip from the article...

Many people fall victim by opening an attachment on an e-mail message containing a virus or by visiting a booby-trapped webpage.

Many hi-tech criminals are now trying to subvert innocent webpages to act as proxies for their malicious programs.

Wouldn't avoiding opening attachments from people you don't know and disabling Active X and even Javascript help w/ this?

Seems to me like a clean install every 6 mo or so would also keep em in check.

I am also willing to bet all the Win 98 machines and pre SP2 machines are mostly to blame.

Scary stuff..

The funny thing is that when you use XP guest profile, you can't install any programs but a website can.
laugh.gif

Quote:

Home has XPP SP2 with Panda Platinum Internet Security, SpywareBlaster, a-squared, SAS, AMUST Registry Cleaner, CCleaner.. This work PC has SAS, Counterspy, CCleaner, SpywareBlaster, and IT's useless Trend Micro Officescan. I don't want think about how much time I spend keeping everything up to date