Spark plug change on 2017 jeep grand cherokee 3.6

Is it true that the 3.6l Pentastar engine's plugs are of a new design which require a 1/2" socket AND that a careless installer can crush / twist them?
I read that somewhere.

It’s a stupid design, but I’m still 100% convinced that every one that has failed is due to over tightening. All you need to do is go till it stops, absolutely no more than that. I barely need a wrench to remove mine, no leaks at 90k. *knock on wood*
No. We did all our own oil changes NEVER overtightened it and still leaked at 60,000 miles. 2017 Wrangler. Tech who did it said it leaked at the casting plug. I have been doing oil changes on all kinds of vehicles since 1972 and I know how to not overtighten filters! This design has a plastic housing, plastic casting plugs 5 o rings for the housing to engine & 4 o rings for the cooler to housing. Not good engineering!

No. We did all our own oil changes NEVER overtightened it and still leaked at 60,000 miles. 2017 Wrangler. Tech who did it said it leaked at the casting plug. I have been doing oil changes on all kinds of vehicles since 1972 and I know how to not overtighten filters! This design has a plastic housing, plastic casting plugs 5 o rings for the housing to engine & 4 o rings for the cooler to housing. Not good engineering!
If it had a 60k power train warranty I'd say that was PERFECT engineering!! :D

Planned obsolescence conspiracy theorists unite!!! I shall lead thee!!!!!!!!

I honestly don't trust them anymore. I wanted a Gladiator but then having to deal with this, and other quality headaches, why would I do that to myself again?