Some People Gamble

MolaKule

Staff member
Gamble Some people Gamble.jpg

In my youth I worked in a shop and was always weary of doing struts on big FWD cars or ball joints on RWD like GM A and G bodies.
I used to wrap the spring with a chain as a belt and suspenders.

While I was young, I was still pretty experienced having worked on many vehicles up to that point. A new guy watched me replace rear struts on a VW (maybe a Rabbit) by pushing down on the top plate with my hand and zapping off the nut. I've always lifted weights and it was easy for me to compress the spring a bit so I didn't need the compressor. Well, he decided to try it on a FWD full size Olds. He started to take off the top nut without using a spring compressor and I ran over and pushed him down, just as the assembly blew apart. The Spring shot up to the ceiling, taking out the lights and glass fell on us and everywhere. Luckily, he was OK. He didn't work there long after that.

In my youth I worked in a shop and was always weary of doing struts on big FWD cars or ball joints on RWD like GM A and G bodies.
I used to wrap the spring with a chain as a belt and suspenders.

While I was young, I was still pretty experienced having worked on many vehicles up to that point. A new guy watched me replace rear struts on a VW (maybe a Rabbit) by pushing down on the top plate with my hand and zapping off the nut. I've always lifted weights and it was easy for me to compress the spring a bit so I didn't need the compressor. Well, he decided to try it on a FWD full size Olds. He started to take off the top nut without using a spring compressor and I ran over and pushed him down, just as the assembly blew apart. The Spring shot up to the ceiling, taking out the lights and glass fell on us and everywhere. Luckily, he was OK. He didn't work there long after that.